Infertility Awareness Week: Blog Party! ❤️🌈

listen-up

 

This week is (Inter)national Infertility Awareness Week.  We use this week to bring awareness to the problems facing so many men and women who are trying to conceive.  Did you know 1 in 8 couples experiences infertility?  Look around at your family and friends.  Chances are someone close to you will experience this very difficult cross.

How can we help each other?

Talk about it.  Be supportive.  Lend a listing ear.  Be a friend.

In honor of NIAW, I would like to throw my first ever blog party.  I am nervous, as I have never thrown a party like this, but I really think that this week is a time to stand together and support one another.  Instead of wallowing in our troubles, let’s make friends and inspire each other.  What better way to do that than a party?

NIAW Blog Party Rules:

  1. This party is open to everyone.  I especially want to encourage those friends who are experiencing infertility or have in the past to participate.  However, if you have not experienced infertility, but perhaps have an uplifting post that you think would be helpful to share with those in time of need, go for it!  Anything to make us smile! 🙂
  2. Share a little about yourself and leave a link to your blog.
  3. Comment on other posts, visit new blogs, and make friends!

I will keep the comments open all week, ending  on the 30th.

Feel free to share this party with others!

Enjoy!  I can’t wait to meet some new friends!

Image result for infertility awareness week

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Infertility Awareness Week: Blog Party! ❤️🌈

  1. Hello I am Kiersten, and I recently started blogging about infertility and a few other topics close to my heart. My husband and I have been trying for four years now and after one loss I have been devastated. However, sometimes I feel I shouldn’t speak up because maybe I am not “infertile enough,” we haven’t sought treatments (those things are expensive!). But I do feel that I have something to say, which is why I started the blog well that and because I will be biking to Advocacy Day from Chicago (to DC for the National Infertility Association, Resolve thing: http://familybuilding.resolve.org/site/PageServer?pagename=advday_home)

    https://leakytube.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Kiersten, thanks for joining the party! I love the name of your blog- so clever! I totally understand how you feel about feeling shy to speak up about your infertility, as my hubby and I have not sought treatments either. But there is no one road to growing a family, and infertility comes in all shapes and sizes, so we should feel free to share. I look forward to following along on your journey both with infertility and biking (Chicago to DC! WOW!) Go you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, my name is Trina 🙂 My husband and I have been trying to start our family for about eight months. We are waiting the full year before we go in and get anything tested. I have been so nervous because no one in our family has ever had problems getting pregnant. They have always been able to get pregnant a month after they start trying. I can’t help but think that something is wrong. I was tracking my ovulation and everything for six months and I finally gave decided to stop. We were on a family trip and I was SIX days late. (I have never been late, ever) I took a couple of pregnancy tests that all turned out to be negative.. but I couldn’t help but get my hopes up. When I ended up not being pregnant I was devastated. I did have a kind of cool experience on that trip that you can read about here> https://simplysaidbytrina.com/2017/04/01/god-does-hear-you/

    Before we even started trying I had this feeling. I can’t really explain it but I just knew that we were going to struggle. Maybe God was trying to mentally prepare me. I also believe that God has a timeline and I hope that one day I will look back and realise that it is taking longer for a reason.

    I live in a small town and people never really talk about this. None of my family or friends have dealt with it so I feel very isolated. I hate bringing it up with anyone because it always feels uncomfortable. I have been trying to find friends and community online that might be able to help me get through.

    https://simplysaidbytrina.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Trina! Welcome to the party! I am so glad you came! I’m sorry you are going through the fears of facing infertility. I pray you don’t have to wait much longer for your little one, but in the meanwhile, the blogging community is here for you. It is a wonderful community to be a part of! I totally agree with your post…God DOES hear us…we just have to be patient with his timing. Sending hugs and prayers your way!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun idea – I’d never heard of a blog party. My blog was not public (for the most part) until I participated in a blog tour. I’d used it to communicate with family and friends until last week – now it is out in the world :). Thankful for all of the people willing to share their stories – infertility can be an incredibly lonely journey. mybeautifulcrazy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Meaghan! (Great name by the way 😉 ) I am so glad you joined the party and opened your blog to the public! The blogging community is such a comfort on this lonely journey of infertility. I love the perspective you share on your blog and look forward to following along on your journey! 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you! Honestly, it is just so much easier. I don’t care how supportive and understanding your friends and family are – these just aren’t the kind of conversations you start up at happy hour. There are so many wonderfully supportive people in my life and their feedback has been amazing. I just wasn’t talking about it – they wanted to hear it, they wanted to know and I just couldn’t. So, overall it’s been good.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi all,

    I’m glad that there is a week to bring awareness to the issues many women and men face when trying to start a family. I’m Nigerian and the way we deal with infertility, culturally, is very different to the US and UK for instance. I have many friends and family who are on the road to building their families.

    I’ve written a letter, from the perspective of a Nigerian and would love to hear what you think. Infertility is definitely an international problem and regardless of where people live, the pain is the same. I just wish the level of support was.

    https://lollybeeslife.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m Dawn and we have been on this rollercoaster for 5 1/2 years now. After 4 IUI’s, 2 laparoscopy’s (the 1st confirming stage IV endometriosis and helping and the 2nd unfortunately didn’t help at all), and a natural pregnancy ending with a miscarriage at 8 weeks, we moved onto adoption and also doing foster care. We got the call for our baby girl on Sept 22nd and she just turned 7 mo on the 21st. The adoption was finalized March 31st. You can find me blogging about adoption, foster care and life in general at ourgreatestdesire.wordpress.com.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Dawn! Thanks so much for joining in on the party! I have loved following your journey and seeing all those cute pictures of your sweet baby girl! (I started blogging just before you got the call, and I can’t believe it’s been 7 months already! Boy, does time fly!)
      Being on the adoption road as well, I love reading about families who have gone through the process. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I feel so uneducated since I didn’t even know there was an awareness week, but I’m so glad that there is. I think that infertility is something that not enough people talk about; I honestly didn’t know the numbers were so high. My blog is http://nattyvinh.wordpress.com and I recently did a post about big chocolate chip cookies that’ll make anyone feel better if you know someone who is going through a rough time!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for kicking off this NIAW blog party!
    I’m Ashley, and have been blogging about infertility since early 2015, when my husband and I first sought treatment for unexplained infertility. 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, 2 miscarriages and a bout of chronic endometritis later, here I am. As I said in my last post, nothing can prepare you for this. But the online community of strong women can make you feel a lot less alone! I look forward to reading everyone’s stories, and wish happy endings for all of us.
    https://wannabemamab.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi All! So excited for NIAW! What better way to connect with each other and get support. I’m new to blogging about our struggles with infertility. You can read about our recent dive into finding the answer for us at my blog Browns by Blending. I’m sharing stories about my blended family and our desire to have our Own baby. See you there 🙂
    Sara
    https://brownsbyblending.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I’m Ellan I’m 23 years old and live in the U.K with my fiance Mitch. We’re getting married in June and have been actively trying to conceive since late last year. I was diagnosed with PCOS, chronic anovulation, and amenorrhea in 2014 and haven’t had a period in 5 years. I blog about our difficulties and the effects a diagnosis has had on us both. I look forward to learning more about everyone! xxx
    ellanpaige.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

