DIY Memory Jar

Happy New Year!  I feel like the last year just flew by!  It was a year full of ups and downs, but I find myself wanting to highlight the positive.  I remember the big highlights of the year, but unfortunately so many of those little joyful moments have been forgotten with time.  For the New Year, I have a new plan to hold onto those little moments forever…a DIY Memory Jar!

image1 (16).JPG

Here is what you need for this EASY project:

  • A jar or vase- I chose an old milk jug that is big enough to hold all my little memories for the year.  

  • Several pieces of fun colored paper

That’s it!  Now get started!

  1. I started by picking several pieces of cardstock out from my scrapbooking paper.  I plan to keep this jar in my living room so I can remember to write in it.  Therefore, I picked some paper that had pretty designs to match my living room.  However, you can just use plain white paper, if that is all you have.  The memories are more important than the paper.

    SAM_2381.JPG

  2. Then, cut your paper into strips.  The size of the strips can vary based on the size of your handwriting and jar.  Mine are about 1.5in x 4.5in.  You just want to have enough space on the strips to write 1 or 2 short sentences.

    SAM_2403.JPG

  3. Store your strips of paper in a convenient place.  Mine are in baggie in my kitchen drawer.

  4. Get writing!  Whenever you experience a good or funny moment, write it down.  No matter how big or small the memory, record it!  My plan is to take some time each Sunday to reflect on the week and write down a memory or two.  If you only write one memory a week, you will have 52 memories by the end of the year!

    SAM_2399.JPG

  5. At the end of the year, take out all your memories and smile at the blessings of the year!  You could even empty the jar into a baggie or envelope and keep your memories from each year.

The key to this project is displaying it in a place that you will see on a daily basis.  It won’t do any good if you don’t remember to write your memories down.

I can’t wait to dump out my jar at the end of the year and celebrate all the year’s blessings!  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “DIY Memory Jar

  1. Just yesterday I also created one of these! I picked up a cheap glittery jar from AC Moore and a small scratch pad. I’m keeping my memory jar in the dining room and encouraging hubby to add to it along with me. I’m looking forward to December 31, 2017 already! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

