A 12 year old’s funny (but wise) New Year’s resolution

My mom recently found a New Year’s resolution that I had written when I was about 12 years old.  It said “Dear Jesus, for my resolution I promise to pray every day from Christmas to New Year’s.” Hahahahaha…That’s a week, y’all!  I promised to pray for a whole WEEK!  Didn’t I know a New Year’s resolution is supposed to last the whole YEAR?  Oh, the innocence!  🙂  

Then again??  When I really got to thinking about the resolution, I realized how smart a 12 year I really was.  While to an adult this resolution may seem small , it was actually quite brilliant.

Image result for new years resolution inspiration

As a sweet 12 year old, this resolution seemed HUGE to me.  Back then, a week seemed like forever.  Now that I am older, time does feel like it flies by more quickly.  However, at the same time, a week is still a lifetime in my eyes.  I can barely plan what I am doing for the next day, much less the whole week!

Why on Earth do we feel we need to make New Year’s resolutions that are large and span an entire YEAR?  Do you know how much can change and happen in a year?  It is crazy to plan that far ahead.  It’s not like we are really in charge anyways.

So I am not making any New YEAR’S resolutions.  Nope. See ya.  Bye.

Instead, I am making New DAY resolutions.  What is that, you ask?

Key Steps to a New Day resolution:

1.  Make the goal.– Each day you make a resolution for the next day.  By taking things one day at a time, you make your goal attainable, instead of unreachable.  You also build up a routine that grows one day at a time.  Essentially, you are being kind to yourself and setting yourself up for success.  

2. Focus on others.– Make sure your New Day resolutions are not focused on just yourself.  The more you help others, the more you will grow and change.  If you want to see change in this world, it starts with you.

3. Pick one goal at a time.– We have so much we want to achieve that we often get bogged down by our ideas.  Too many goals can overwhelm you, and you can not put the full focus you need into each one.  Rome was not built in a day.  Fulfill one goal before moving on to another.

4. Reflect.–  Reflect on each day and assess your progress.  Maybe you did not reach your goal today.  Why?  Good thing you can try again tomorrow!  Daily reflection gives you time to evaluate where you still need to grow and celebrate your successes on a more frequent basis.  Reflection helps you to be grateful for each and every day you have.

Image result for one day at a time

Good luck, my friends!  Make a new goal.  Just one for tomorrow.  Not because it’s a new year, but because it is a new day.  Start every day fresh.  Take it one day at a time, and be the change you want to see in the world. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

